Scottish Parliament


Edinburgh, United Kingdom


Civic & Government
Interior Design


30,000 SQM





RMJM, in a unique partnership with Enric Miralles Benedetta Tagliabue, was selected to design the new Scottish Parliament. The single most dramatic and outstanding idea in the winning competition was that “The Parliament sits in the land.”

The intellectual vision was for a unique institution – open, anti-classical and non-hierarchical. The architecture that expressed this was to be de-institutionalised, aggregated, and organic – embracing the landscape and defying all the canonical rules of architectural composition.

The Assembly building, MSP building and restored Queensberry House have all received ‘Excellent’ BREEAM ratings.


2005: Edinburgh Architecture Association, Centenary Medal
2005: European Union Prize for Contemporary Architecture Mies van der Rohe Award – Short listed project
2005: Scottish Design Awards ‘Best Publicly Funded Building’
2005: Scottish Design Awards ‘Architecture Grand Prix’
2005: Manuel de la Dehesa award
2005: Royal Fine Art Commission – ‘Urban & Landscape Specialist Award’
2005: RIAS Andrew Doolan Award for Architecture, Best Building in Scotland 2005
2005: RIBA Stirling Prize
2005: Overall Winner in the Concrete Society’s 2005 Awards for Outstanding Structures
2006: Civic Trust Award
2007: Architectural Ironmongery Specification Awards: Commendation